MA Logo.png


Mail: P.O. Box 23224 Louisville, Ky, 40223

Stay Updated

© 2019 by Momentum Appalachia.  |  Terms of Use  |   Privacy Policy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

Kentucky Appalachia

"Appalachia" is as much geography as it is a strong cultural identity. For this reason, our team found it necessary to illustrate Kentucky Appalachia visually.


We do not include this information to exclude, but instead to give parameters to what is at present, Kentucky Appalachia. Using the Appalachian Regional Commission as a guide, there are 54 counties designated as "Kentucky Appalachian." They are: 


Adair, Bath, Bell, Boyd, Breathitt, Carter, Casey, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Cumberland, Edmonson, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Floyd, Garrard, Green, Greenup, Harlan, Hart, Jackson, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Lincoln, McCreary, Madison, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Metcalfe, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Nicholas, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Powell, Pulaski, Robertson, Rockcastle, Rowan, Russell, Wayne, Whitley, and Wolfe.